It takes a village…

If you are anything like me, you might still be suffering from Christmas withdrawal, or perhaps post-Christmas chaos. I’m still packing up boxes of Christmas stuff, labelling them to ensure I know what’s in those boxes, and finally, making sure they fit into the closets that are devoted to “Christmas decor”! It’s never quite as much fun taking down Christmas as it is putting it all up in anticipation of the holidays.

But enough of that…. on to the village. My Dickens Village is one of my most precious collections, and while parts of it are Christmas themed, I prefer to think of it as a winter village, something to be enjoyed through the Christmas season and well into January. In fact, you might want to think about this yourself. There are several winter decorations that we don’t need to pack up quite so quickly. Yes, the tree must go and Santa really needs to disappear along with the Nativity scene, but consider leaving out a few decorations that suit the season. That’s my plan for the village! I want to enjoy the cozy comfort of viewing the tiny figures, horse-drawn carriages, pretzel stands, etc. carefully placed in the vicinity of The Olde Curiosity Shoppe, the Naval Academy, Victoria Train Station, or  perhaps lingering outside of Thomas Kersey’s Coffee Shop. In this village the snow never melts and somehow everything always appears perfect. It’s evocative of a world we sometimes wish we could escape into.

By the end of this month, I will be ready to pack it all up…. particularly as I anticipate finding my boxes of Valentine decorations! In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these few photos of the miniature world of Charles Dickens.

DSC_0060

DSC_0049

 

DSC_0051

 

DSC_0052

 

DSC_0053

 

DSC_0054

 

DSC_0061

 

DSC_0064

DSC_0048

Leave a Reply

