Puffed Wheat Squares!

DSC_0003

If there’s a snack that is evocative of my childhood, it’s got to be the iconic Puffed Wheat Square. This easy-to-make treat was always a hit and disappeared almost as fast as my mom could make it. Now, as a high-school teacher, this has become my standard snack when I’m rewarding my class at the end of term or there is a need for any sort of celebration. I’ve even had students email me after graduation asking for the recipe. If you’ve lost the recipe for this somewhere along your journey, here it is once again!

Puffed wheat
Any brand of puffed wheat will do!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter or margarine                                           1 cup brown sugar

1/2 corn syrup (I use Bee Hive brand)                     1/2 cup baking cocoa powder

1 tsp. vanilla                                                                        10 cups puffed wheat

Directions: Melt butter or margarine. Add brown sugar, corn syrup and cocoa power. Stir over medium/high heat until mixture bubbles. Remove from heat and add vanilla. Stir in puffed wheat. Press into a 9 x 13 pan. Let cool and cut into squares.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

